So,

Today I was given a coding challenge. Or rather I took one voluntarily to prepare myself for the future.  I know there are companies that require candidates to perform a technical test when applying, and there’s that don’t.

I understand the requirement. A good interview includes a coding test, because you want to see your candidate think and what kind of code he writes to solve a particular problem. I personally don’t care if a candidate did not get the correct solution during the test. You simply cannot know everything, and I’m usually more interested in how someone approaches a problem and comes to a solution.

But back to the test: I was asked to figure out the binary gap for any given number. The binary gap is the largest repeating amount of 0 in the binary notation of that given number. So for example, the binary gap for 15 is 0, because 15 in binary is 1111. For 16 however it’s 4, as 16 in binary is 10000. I hope you understand the question.

# Author: Arne De Herdt
#
# Calculates the binary gap for any given number.
# The binary gap is the largest repeating amount of 0
# in the binary notation of a given number.
#
# For example:
# n = 1041=10000010001_2 => 5
# n = 16 = 10000 => 4
#
def binary_gap(n)
  highest_count = 0
  binary_notation = "%b" % n
  counter = 0

  binary_notation.each_char do |character|
    if character == "1"
      highest_count = counter if counter >= highest_count
      counter = 0
    else
      counter += 1
    end
  end

  return highest_count
end

Is this code covering all cases? Yes, it does. It scored 100% on the Codility website, where I got it from. Is this code I want to be running in a production environment? Most likely not. This code is slow and consumes memory. Classic O(n) space problem where the memory depends on the input.

Can I write production code? Probably. Given a few iterations and improvements I can come up with some magical code in Ruby that does it faster and better.  But is that something I want to show off with on these tests? Rather not. This code is way easier to explain for a thinking process, and gives me a chance to also address the issues with it, showing my understanding of programming patterns and designs.

Feel free to leave comments on how you’d approach this, or if you disagree with me or not.

